Reflections

My NAESP 2018 Take-Aways

 

PIA NAESP18
An incredible group of Principals In Action

I had an amazing opportunity to attend the National Association of Elementary School Principals Conference in Orlando this past week. The highlight of the conference for me was meeting (in person) the principals from around the country that I have connected with via Twitter and Voxer.  I have a ton of takeaways, too many to name and too many to try to implement all at once (which tends to be one of my constraints). Here are the takeaways that I will set as my goals for this year:

  1. I will continue to be a champion for students. I will do all within my power to level the playing field for them and provide as many opportunities as I’m able to do. Every Child. Every Day. No matter what.
  2. I will do my part to create a culture of literacy. I have amazing staff members that already model and work to implement this culture-time for me to step up to the plate!
  3. I will ensure that my vision and mission are shared in my actions and decisions.

I am so thankful that I was given this opportunity and for the connections that were strengthened during my 4 days away from my family. In the words of the amazing and infamous Hamish Brewer “Relentless Skateboarding Principal”:

Better Together

 

Leave a comment